Saturday, January 24, 2015

January 24


1776 - E.T.A. Hoffmann
German Romantic author whose novella The Nutcracker and the Mouse King was adapted into the ballet The Nutcracker.

1862 - Edith Wharton 
American novelist, winner of the 1921 Pulitzer Prize for Literature for The Age of Innocence.

1889 - Charles Hawes
American author of sea stories; the first American-born winner of the Newbery Medal, for his 1923 The Dark Frigate.

1931 - Leonard Baker
American author, winner of the 1979 Pulitzer Prize for Biography for Days of Sorrow and Pain: Leo Baeck and the Berlin Jews.

1944 - David Gerrold
American science fiction author and screenwriter best known for his "The Trouble With Tribbles" Star Trek episode.

1965 - Winston Churchill
1986 - L. Ron Hubbard 
1991 - Jack Schaefer
1998 - Walter D. Edmonds

No comments:

Post a Comment