Thursday, January 22, 2015

January 22


1788 - Lord Byron
George Gordon Byron, English poet and important figure in the Romantic movement.

1849 - August Strindberg
Swedish writer, whose The Red Room has been called the first modern Swedish novel.

1906 - Robert E. Howard
American author of pulp fiction novels, known primarily for his character Conan the Barbarian.

1922 - Howard Moss
American poet, winner of the National Book Award in 1972.

1934 - Graham Kerr
British-born cooking personality, television host and cookbook author, known as the Galloping Gourmet.

1937 - Joseph Wambaugh
American author whose police fiction draws on his 14 years of experience with the LAPD.

1943 - James Carroll
American writer whose fiction and non-fiction center on religion and history.

1927 - James Ford Rhodes
1957 - Ralph Barton Perry
2000 - Craig Claiborne
2010 - Louis R. Harlan
2018 - Ursula K. Le Guin

No comments:

Post a Comment