Saturday, August 8, 2015

August 8


1896 - Marjorie Rawlings
American author whose best-known work, The Yearling, won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1939.

1927 - Maia Wojciechowska
Polish-American author of children's and young adult books; winner of the 1956 Newbery Medal for Shadow of a Bull.

1955 - Iain Pears
English art historian and novelist. His series featuring fictional art historian Jonathan Argyll ran for 10 years, but his fame began with the popular book An Instance of the Fingerpost.

1964 - Anastasia M. Ashman
American author who resides in Turkey and writes on ex-pat women's issues.

1965 - Shirley Jackson 
1979 - Nicolas Montserrat 
1984 - Ellen Raskin
2013 - Barbara Mertz

No comments:

Post a Comment