Saturday, May 16, 2015

May 16


1884 - Eric P. Kelly
American author whose book The Trumpeter of Krakow won the 1929 Newbery Medal.

1886 - Douglas Southall Freeman
American historian who won two Pulitzer Prizes, for his biographies of Robert E. Lee and George Washington.

1890 - Gertrude Chandler Warner
American author of children's books; known as the first author of the Boxcar Children series.

1906 - Margret Rey
German-American co-author (with her husband H.A. Rey) of the Curious George books.

1912 - Studs Terkel
American author and historian; winner of the 1985 Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction.

1929 - Adrienne Rich
American feminist poet, Guggenheim scholar and National Book Award winner.

1934 - Robert Dallek
American historian specializing in American presidents.

1950 - Bruce Coville
American author of children's and young adult novels.

1703 - Charles Perrault
1818 - Matthew Lewis
1955 - James Agee
1984 - Irwin Shaw
2013 - Bernard Waber

No comments:

Post a Comment