Thursday, December 24, 2015

December 24


1822 -  Matthew Arnold
British poet, known for works like "Dover Beach."

1880 - Johnny Gruelle
American artist and children's book author; the creator of Raggedy Ann.

1891 - Feodor Stepanovich Rojankovsky
Russian emigre illustrator who won the Caldecott Medal in 1956 for his work of Frog Went A-Courtin'.

1895 - Noel Streatfield
English children's author, known for the "Shoes" series.

1910 - Fritz Leiber
American author of fantasy, horror and science fiction.

1920 - Franco Lucentini
Italian writer whose novel The Sunday Woman was made into a popular film.

1927 - Mary Higgins Clark
American author of suspense novels and minority owner of the New Jersey Nets.

1945 - Nicholas Meyer
American author and film director, known for his novel The Seven-Per-Cent Solution.

1948 - Juan Felipe Herrera
American poet, the first Chicano Poet Laureate starting in 2015.

1952 - Christopher Buckley
American political satirist and novelist; son of William F. Buckley Jr.

1970 - Adam Haslett
American author whose debut collection of short stories was a National Book Award and Pulitzer finalist.

1973 - Stephenie Meyer
American young adult author. Yeah, all I'm gonna say there.

1976 - Evan Osnos
American journalist, winner of the 2014 National Book Award for non-fiction for his book Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth and Faith in the New China.

1863 - William Makepeace Thackeray
1961 - Robert Hillyer
1991 - Virginia Sorensen
1992 - Peyo
1993 - Norman Vincent Peale
2008 - Harold Pinter
2010 - Elisabeth Beresford
2016 - Richard Adams

No comments:

Post a Comment