Thursday, July 16, 2015

July 16


1880 - Kathleen Norris
American novelist, whose writings capture upper-class life in the San Francisco area. (Not to be confused with modern poet Kathleen Norris)

1889 - Arthur Bowie Chrisman
American author whose short story collection Shen of the Sea won the 1926 Newbery Award.

1928 - Anita Brookner
British novelist and art historian whose 1984 novel Hotel du Lac won the Booker Prize.

1928 - Robert Sheckley
American science fiction author who has been nominated for both the Hugo and Nebula awards.

1929 - Sheri Tepper
American author of science fiction, horror and mystery novels. Many of her books have an ecofeminist slant.

1952 - Richard Egielski
American illustrator and writer, winner of the 1987 Caldecott Medal for illustrating Hey Al by Arthur Yorinks.

1955 - Susan Wheeler
American educator and poet; her collection Meme was a 2012 National Book Award finalist.

1953 - Hilaire Belloc
1960 - John P. Marquand
1965 - Boris Artzybasheff
1985 - Heinrich Böll
1991 - Meindert DeJong
2003 - Carol Shields
2012 - Stephen Covey

No comments:

Post a Comment