Thursday, June 18, 2015

June 18


1946 - Russell Ash
British author of art, humor and reference titles such as The Top 10 of Everything series.

1949 - Chris Van Allsburg
American author and illustrator of children's books, two-time Caldecott Medal winner for The Polar Express and Jumanji.

1951 - Vivian Vande Velde
American author of children's and young adult fiction, winner of a 2001 Edgar award for the title Never Trust a Dead Man.

1957 - Richard Powers
American novelist of literary fiction dealing with science and technology; his book The Echo Maker won the 2006 National Book Award for Fiction and was a Pulitzer finalist.

1961 - Angela Johnson
American poet and children's book author, whose stories explore the African American experience.

1902 - Samuel Butler
1936 - Maxim Gorky
1982 - Djuna Barnes
1982 - John Cheever
1997 - Lev Kopelev
2008 - Tasha Tudor
2010 - José Saramago

No comments:

Post a Comment